Nowadays, people always throw the old things away when they buy new things; whereas in the past, old things were repaired and used again. What factors cause this phenomenon? What effects the phenomenon leads to?

Recently, unlike in the past, more and more people tend to buy something new instead of fixing the existing one and prefer to get rid of it. This essay will try to identify the factors contributing to this and also explain some of the issues it is likely to create in recently behaviour. There are many reasons why individuals are more likely purchase new items rather than fix items they already own. One important factor is the economic conditions for most of the population are better than in the past. Many people have higher incomes, allowing them to buy new things easily without worrying about a lack of money. For example, the rapid turnover of smartphone demonstrates how consumers prefer to upgrade the latest model rather than repairing their exist Change the form of the verb existing show examples devices. Moreover, the consumerist lifestyle are changing people to prioritise convenience and newness. For example, many people prefer to buy new furniture rather than refurbishing their existing pieces, as it saves time and provides immediate satisfaction with the latest styles and trends. Perhaps the worst problem stemming from this is the increase in the amount of waste. When someone often buy new stuff to replace something that they think are outdated or obsolete, they are potentially contributing to create the mountain of trash. Additionally, this is not only places a significant burden on landfills but also increases the demand for resources to produce new products, thus exacerbating environmental degradation. In conclusion, the current trend of buying new items and throwing away the old ones is driven by changes in economic success as well as a consumerist lifestyle, which it turn could lead to reduction in environmental quality.