International travel brings benefits to travellers and the countries visited, but it also harms for the environment. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Nature is one of the places that attract many tourists around the world. Although they are often doing inappropriate things towards nature, I believe that they contribute a lot to the locals' economy. On the one hand, the main drawback of visitors to states is they have a lack of awareness and respect for the host countries. To begin with, irresponsible travellers tend to show their lack of awareness and empathy towards nature, such as smoking in forests which can cause wildfire, and throwing their food waste anywhere. People could easily meet this evidence in famous places, and most of them already took serious action and warning towards those visitors. Besides this, international travellers show an inappropriate attitude that breaks the rules, as the travellers do not really care to understand and do some research about the host countries' culture and laws. Consequently, specific communities are not really excited about international visitors coming to their land. On the other hand, the brighter side of this phenomenon is tourists hugely contribute to the region's income. The foremost one is small businesses near tourist attractions always crowded by consumers as they will buy souvenirs. In fact, they would make huge purchases for people in their home states, this also could make the host countries become popular overseas. Secondly, despite the small businesses which sell products, local restaurants also gain huge profits from them. For example, Indonesia is very famous for its cuisine and when international people come, it is a mandatory activity to try foods here. Therefore, purchasing power from visitors overseas is huge, which can thus make the locals acquire financial benefits. In conclusion, while tourists could harm the environment as they lack knowledge and empathy, they will paramountly contribute to the national income of the host land. However, I am firmly convinced that the demerits are eclipsed by the merits.