Mobile phones and smart devices should be restricted and that young people should not be allowed to have them. Only people of a certain age should have permission to own them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this proposal? What is your opinion?

smart devices are being increasingly used more in every day life. There are some people who argue that only people of a certain age should be able to purchase and own them. In this essay, I will try to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this opinion and give my own view on it. Smart devices can provide a technlogical and educational advantage. By using them im school situations, they can improve students ´ productivity. By increasing the sources of information students can use, it helps them completing tasks better while being more complete in their answers. Thus leading to increasing levels of productivtiy and higher grades. The fact that smart devices use the internet has another distinct advantage, students get the most up to date information. Schoolbooks, on the one hand practical for teachers, sometimes do not adress themes anymore that are relevant for students in this day and age. The advantages of these devices however, carry some potential downsides The use of technological devices can have its negative effects. Students can become more lazy by using them. For example, in the past, students had to go to the library and search books for information on subjects they needed. This way, they also stumbled upon other information they might not even thought about before. Thus this way of gathering information could get lost by using technology. Furthermore there could be overreliance on sources over the internet which may be incorrect. A lot of students use wikipedia, a website which serves as an encyclopedia, however, this website can be edited by anyone. If people have malice in mind, they could mislead people and so the students as well who use the website for their sources. In conclusion I think technlogical devices can have many postive effects by increasing the productivity and offering up to date information to students. These benefits do in my opinion outweigh the side effects, which include the possibility of possible false information and the increased risk that students will not go to the library as often as they did in the past.