Do you think that technological advancement has brought more harm than good? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

From the earliest stone tools to the latest advancements in artificial intelligence, robotics and virtual reality, technology has continuously transformed our lives. However, this transition also cautioned against the danger that rapid change could have on societies. Personally, I absolutely agree with this viewpoint, which will be further discussed in the following essay. On the one hand, these modern inventions have brought some positive impacts towards a nation, acknowledged as economic growth, healthcare improvements job automation etc. To be specific, widespread access to the internet has revolutionized our world, transforming how we communicate, learn, work, shop and even socialize. In addition, modern methods have paved the way for automation, resulting in reduced labour work and improved productivity. To illustrate, centuries ago, more goods were handmade, which require more workers and time, nowadays many manufacturers have taken advantage of automatic machines to mass produce products with consistent quality and in a relatively short time. As a result, not only has the workload can be done faster and more effectively, but the quality of life has also been improved. On the other hand, while automation has the power to unlock unimaginable benefits to community and nation, it also has the power to disrupt systems and potentially devastate societies. The rate of technological development and availability threatens to outpace the rate at which societies and governments are able to adapt to it. In China, for example, 77% of Chinese jobs were at risk of automation in 2016, meaning that as machinery develops, hundreds of thousands of folk could be replaced by machinery without alternative employment opportunities. Moreover, the lack of face-to-face communication is also one of technology's negative impacts. Having seen each other on social apps already, people become more hesitant to meet physically. Some teenagers even want to have virtual friends more than mix with their real-life ones. In the long run, this can lead to a serious decrease in social interactions as well as communication skills as well as characteristics such as empathy and mindfulness. As a consequence, population will end up being emotionless and lacking genuine relationships, which can be extremely harmful to the well-being of human society. In conclusion, while it is true that technological advances have brought numerous benefits to human lives, I also agree that the consequences along with them are considerable.