A poor infrastructure hinders under developed countries from progressing and modernizing. Some people think this should be the first problem tackled by foreign aid. To what extent do you agree?

Some argue that insufficient infrastructure can be an obstacle for less-developed countries to improve and modernize. Likewise, the same people believe that this should be the first issue to be resolved with outside funding. While there are, undoubtedly, other critical matters that can be resolved with foreign aid, infrastructure is clearly the most important one because improving it will help slash transit costs for all businesses within the country, and will expedite the speed in which goods and services are delivered. Firstly, improving the quality of roads and tracks will cut transportation costs for all companies within the country by reducing the time and fuel it requires to go from one place to another. Thanks to this, companies will pay a smaller portion of their revenue to fuel and drivers which will increase their net profits. Undoubtedly, the best example of this is the Bosphorus Bridge in Istanbul, Turkey. Before its inception, vehicles had to cross the Bosphorus via boats, which were unreliable and costly, both in terms of time and money. Thus, by putting up the bridge, the Ottoman state was able to remedy this, and consequently, reduce the transit costs for all establishments within the constituency. Moreover, bolstering the quality of infrastructure will increase the speed in which products and services can be delivered. Dirt roads and meandering tracks are notorious for massively prolonging the time it takes to get around. Therefore, by allocating foreign funding to improving these, nations can streamline transportation and make it much less time -consuming. For instance, the trip from Istanbul to Bursa used to take around eight hours despite the two cities being less than 300 kilometers away from eachother. To remedy this, the Turkish government put up the Orhangazi Bridge, which helped slash the time it took to three hours, and thus, cut down transit time by seven hours. To sum up, the allocation of foreign aid is a controversial topic within less-developed countries. And, even though some may argue that it could be better utilized in areas like education or healthcare, it is certain that solid infrastructural foundations will provide the highest benefits for the development of these states.