Some people say that when deciding how taxes should be spent, the government should prioritise health care. Others think that there are more important priorities for tax-payers’ money. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One school of thought holds that the government should take priority on healthcare issues when allocating taxes, while others are of the opinion that this resource should be leveraged wisely in considering other sectors. This essay will examine both viewpoints before concluding that I lean towards the latter. Admittedly, there are some compelling reasons why some advocate the belief that money collected from taxes should be spent on health care. The key rationale is that individuals are becoming more serious about their health problems and they deserve high-quality healthcare services for their contributions to the country. Since private health care might be unaffordable for households and public services might be overloaded, which reduces the accessibility of dwellers from rural areas to have their health check-up frequently. Therefore, focusing on healthcare, for example, improving infirmary in underprivileged areas and equipping up-to-date technologies as well as facilities in hospitals will make them be able to welcome more patients with different requirements. As a result, the general public could be healthier due to more accessible health care services and bring about a productive workforce for the country in the long term. Despite the aforementioned arguments, I side with those who assert that there are various crucial sectors that should be taken into consideration when the government leverages taxes. It is undeniable that education plays an important role in forming a potential and creative labour force that contributes to the development of a country. A well-educated generation can have high awareness about their health by being taught at schools or through national campaigns, therefore it could reduce the risk of suffering from illnesses. For example, obesity is on the increase but it might be avoidable if people can restrict the amount of unhealthy food consumption and follow a healthy routine, including exercising. Furthermore, the military is an essential sector that every nation prioritises since there are many scarce resources and lands being threatened. Therefore, ensuring a safe condition for its residents will be conducive to economic growth and maintaining its sovereignty as it is, contributing to a prosperity and strong nation. In conclusion, although I acknowledge the government spending on healthcare will confer upon the public a positive impact on their healths, I am more convinced that the long term benefits to a nation by allocating taxes on education and military should not be underestimated.