In some countries, it can be difficult for people over the age of 50 to get good jobs, despite their experience. What do you think are the causes and effects of this problem?

People who are over 50 years old with various job experiences are having difficulty securing a good job in some countries. There are various reasons as to why this is and several impacts this could have on this age group of workers. This essay will list the causes and effects of this. To start with, companies are more inclined to hire workers who are only starting their work journey. This is due to the organizations being able to pay newly hired employees base salary in comparison to the higher salary range they need to give to a 50-year-old job seeker who already has multiple experiences on his resume. Another reason is that late middle age workers are less flexible with change due to them being comfortable in a set of tasks or software they have been using for more than half of their working career. For example, at my recent job employees in this age range are less interactive and disfavour the changes with the newer set of web pages created to increase client satisfaction and the reason for this is that they will have to learn a different software which will take time off of their main task. Lastly, late middle-aged workers have less enthusiasm and energy than those of the younger workforce. The causes mentioned above can have several impacts on both late-middle age workers and the workforce. Since companies are hiring entry-level employees instead of people who already have experience, this can cause a high turnover rate within the company. Another effect it could have is that late middle-aged workers will not be able to retain their lifestyle which can also lessen their quality of life in the future. Lastly, by not utilizing the skills and experience this specific workforce have, companies are missing out on their specific set of skills and experience that may help the company to advance more. In conclusion, several factors can cause companies not to hire late middle-aged job seekers with a lot of experience due to the higher salary range, they are rigid to change and the lesser enthusiasm and energy they bring to the company. This may lead to a high turnover rate, decreased standard of living and companies not being able to use specific sets of skills and experience.