Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Children’s attitudes and personalities are often dominated by their friends, or experts named this phenomenon as “ peer pressure”. This essay will discuss whether the drawbacks of peer pressure within kids overbalance the advantages. Many peer pressures are giving the spark of competitiveness within toddlers. While it is undeniable that having peers is helpful for children’s social development, the sense of rivalry also encourage kids to do better than the others. For instance, befriending a bunch of diligent students will make the one who befriend them to be more diligent. This happen mostly because each one of them should not feel inferior to other so they can keep staying inside the group. Thus, the friendly contest will enhance the children’s intelligence, accordingly they will have ambition to aim greater in the future. However, the rivalry is not all positives, in contrast, many peer groups create negative and unnecessary competitions. If the youngsters stay within a consumtive group of friends, then eventually they will adapt to hedonist behaviour. There are many cases similar such as adolescents who were once obedient to their parents changed into a rebellious one due to their friends. Consequently, having the negative pressure within the peers will destruct the young generation’s personality and future. In conclusion, having peer pressure within friends will build the competitiveness and eventually supports one another to achieve something in common. Nevertheless, it is also apply to friends group that have negative influence to each other. This case will possibly happen to children, unless the parents prevent this by continously filter and monitor their offspring’s environment. On that note, the downsides of having peer pressures do not outweigh the benefits.