Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought holds that governmental bodies should offer students, irrespective of their socio-economic background, free-of-charge access to tertiary education. While I accept that this perspective is somewhat justifiable, I believe that this waiving tuition could be fraught with pitfalls. On the one hand, receiving a free college from the government could be advantageous to a certain extent. First and foremost, this policy could allow bachelor’s degree holders to have more opportunities to find a high-paid job. For example, the Netherlands Government abolished tuition fees for citizens, and as a result, numerous graduates could work for reputation organisations which offer them large incomes. Furthermore, not worrying about tuition could help students focus on studying and research. For instance, graduates who pursue university programs, especially those with high knowledge and skills will be valuable human resources contributing, thereby contributing to building a more equitable society. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons as to why I am convinced that the the provision of free-of-charge education could do both learners and communities a great disservice. One rational is that students may take a heavy toll on students’ academic performance. For instance, they may lose their concentration on studying and skip the lessons, as a result, they could have an adverse bearing on the exams. Another justification is that the enormous cost incurred to cover students’ tuition payments would put a strain on government coffers. This, therefore, could lead to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare, thereby forcing ordinary citizens, especially those who are on the verge of poverty, to struggle even more to make ends meet. In conclusion, it is irrefutable that tuition exemption could have some beneficial aspects, I would contend that national authorities should not make higher education free for everyone because of its serious drawbacks.