Some people think that competition at work, at school in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Many people believe that it is necessary for employees and students to be competitive, while others think that cooperation should be prioritized. In my opinion, I hold a belief that individuals should collaborate, and this essay will highlight some primary reasons. On the one hand, competition fosters a sense of motivation. In workplaces, competition can lead to increased productivity as employees strive to outperform their peers and earn rewards or recognition. Moreover, competitiveness has been shown to increase psychological and physiological activation, preparing the mind and body for increased effort and enabling higher performance. In academic settings, students are motivated and driven to put forth their best effort. Competition sparks interest, passion and ignites a fire within. In addition, in daily life, it is certainly true that facing a contest could positively affect individual growth. This can be further explained by the fact that one can enhance his self-confidence and self-worth through competing with other participants to gain rewards. On the other hand, I would argue that cooperative environments lead to better mental health and stronger relationships. Surveys have revealed that avoiding competition at work can develop a positive mentality and offer feelings of safety among team members, fostering a healthier working environment. Similarly, as students collaborate in class, they are expanding a wider circle of friends. They can bounce ideas off each other, provide peer feedback in a safe way, work through learning challenges together and build comfort and confidence in the classroom. Last but not least, in daily life, cooperation can foster community spirit and ensure resources are used more efficiently. For instance, team projects in schools not only teach academic content but also the ability to work with others, a crucial life skill. In conclusion, the issue of competition and cooperation seems to be highly debatable over time. While many consider competition a positive element and appreciate cooperation, I strongly believe that participating in competitions would not motivate individuals’ desires and nurture their personal development.