some people believe that the internet is increasing the gap between rich and poor, while other believe it helps to reduce this gap. discuss both views and give your opinion.

Research shows that the internet is an important tool to combat poverty, but it is argued that it actually deepen the differences between upper and lower classes. Although this second argument has good reasons, I would say the world wide web has a revolutionary impact in the fight for inequalities. The access to internet is easy for the wealthier part of the society, once they have enough money to buy both the hardware and software that provide this access. It allows rich people to first use this technology, helping them to have more profits, a better life quality, and also good education. In this context, it looks as though only the rich can go further and faster, but actually that distance and speed seem to be shortened in favor of the poor. Knowledge is power, and the internet came to allow everyone to access it through their computers, smartphones or tablets. In this sense, information has become cheaper and easier than before, which granted poor communities to better understand the world, and grow in many ways. It is true, however, that rich people still obtain the benefits of the internet before anyone else, but many projects and institutions have been granting information through the web to break the chain of poverty and illiteracy. In conclusion, the internet has allowed everyone to have access to information, but it still did not extinguish the differences between the rich and the poor. Nevertheless, the number of poor people who obtain success through internet is an ascending line. I therefore believe the world wide web is one of strongest and most democratic tools to reduce poverty.