Some people believe that the best way to deal with heavy traffic in city centres is for privately owned cars to be banned, others however, think this is an unrealistic solution. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The severity of traffic has been highlighted over the past decades. From this aspect, some opine that the best method to deal with heavy traffic in urban is to prohibit privately owned cars, but others hold the view that this is not a feasible solution. This essay will explore both views and then my personal opinion will be suggested. It is often pointed out that the best method to cope with severe traffic in urban centres is to prohibit privately owned cars. Proponents of this argument suggest that an increase in the utilisation of public transport occurs. This is because the implementation of vehicle prohibition encourages citizens to use public transportation, which mitigates traffic congestion. What is more, each driver is more likely to temporarily stop driving their vehicles in order to comply with the ban. This obviously leads them to stay at the house or utilise public transport instead of driving, and this in turn brings about a reduction in heavy traffic on the roads. Nevertheless, some opponents insist that banning the private vehicle is not a practical solution. Although the benefits of controlling vehicles on the road cannot be overlooked, drivers may experience significant difficulties. A pertinent example of this is that they may need to drive on special occasions such as medical emergencies, urgent criminal situations, or when moving heavy luggage. This, therefore, results in them being imposed heavy fines and penalties, causing unnecessary stress. Moreover, a majority of citizens and vehicle corporations would oppose this policy, since they have owned and driven their cars for a long time, and each driver faces inconvenience in their daily lives, so potentially leading to protests against the ban. To recapitulate, I believe that banning private vehicles is not a practical solution because drivers may experience significant difficulties, and a majority of citizens and vehicle corporations would oppose this policy. Thus, the government should not enact traffic laws but instead find alternative ways to mitigate heavy traffic.