In many countries, students take a year gap after finishing school and work or travel during this period. Should students take a gap year before attending universities? What are the advantages and disadvantages of it?

Many scholars in many nations choose to skip a year post finishing their studies at school. This could lead to favourable and unfavourable circumstances for them. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits that come along with choices made by youngsters. To begin, it is a fact that students can receive a plethora of exposure to the outside world if they sacrifice their comfort zone. Although, it will require braveness from them, but instead offers a feeling of independence and makes them mentally strong individuals. Additionally, teenagers can earn significant money in this one-year gap. Further, they can spend this money on travelling to different locations to learn about cultures or exchange ideas that can help them in the future. However, the drawbacks of taking a gap year are far greater. One of the major disadvantages of it is isolation from studies that affect the productivity of the youngsters. Consequently, at the end of their one-year journey, they might face problems associated with adopting the studies after a prolonged interval. The risk of not getting accepted by prestigious universities is another disadvantage. Some prestigious institutes do not want adolescents with a gap year to be part of them. In other words, they will risk all their achievement and hard work. Furthermore, they might join some vocational institute and lose their higher education. In conclusion, teens can take a break after finishing school. They can learn things that cannot be taught by any universities or colleges. However, young ones need to be aware of the risks that they are taking and must be careful of the decisions that they are making.