Some people believe that criminals should be put into prison as long as possible. However, others believe that it is necessary to educate those people in local community. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

One part of society thinks that criminals should be imprisoned for a longer tenure because they threaten to the societies, whilst, others consider that opportunity should be given to them to improve their social conduct, so that they should be educated while living with other people in society. I believe that they should be imprisoned for their better future but for a short span of time. With regard to the long-term prison sentence, it is the argument of many individuals that offenders have criminal intentions, so their presence with local communities is not a wise decision. In other words, if by law, it is enforced to give them education about the correct moral behaviour so that a deep understanding of moral conduct can be developed in themselves, resulting in, they can become a responsible citizen is a meaningless hope, but would create a threat to the crowd. Furthermore, the long-term prison sentences would be difficult to serve, so it will deter criminals from doing even minor offences as they would be aware that their criminal actions would lead them to long-term prison sentence. On the other hand, some are of the view that keeping criminals apart from public makes it difficult for them to reintegrate with society because the aim of imprisonment is to rehabilitate them by retraining them to get some useful skills and developing an ethical code of conduct that how to survive in the society as a useful citizen. But, if offenders keep away from the local people, then it is more difficult for them to create a strong bond with the people who are living in the society. Consequently, long-term imprisonment would lead to isolation, and in some cases, depression could be the outcome and they might not recover from it throughout their lifetime, eventually, their whole life could be ruined. Additionally, practical knowledge is always considered the best measure to learn anything, so to teach them about social ethics can only be achieved successfully, if they survive along with other persons in society. In conclusion, both arguments have their own reasons, but I think that rather than make their life worse by putting them in prison for a long time, laws should be made to give them appropriate time prison sentence so that they should be educated there, and become a responsible person after they being released ensuring that they can now survive with other members of the community.