Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether the delinquent should be treated in the same way as adult criminals has been a hot topic. From my perspective, they must be subjected to judgements as adults but can be punished in a different way. This, on the one hand, can inhibit criminal impulses; on the other hand, provides young criminals the opportunity to return to society. The reason why I suggest the delinquent be justly judged as adults is that if they are exempt from justice for their immaturity, they are likely to lapse into crimes again. These kinds of examples are innumerable, the latest of which happened in Shangdong. There, three primary students have maltreated a classmate to death. The shocking event has been partly attributed to lacking enough punishment against their previous misbehaviours. This reminds us of the importance of subjecting the delinquent to justice. Nevertheless, I am not among the people who propose to punish young criminals in the same as adults. They are susceptible to the outside environment and are not mentally mature, and thereby society is partly responsible for their crimes. Therefore, we should actively provide them with opportunities to return to society. For example, instead of being imprisoned, they can do social services during the period of incarceration, which, in fact, has been adopted by some American countries, for example, Califonia. To summarize, the delinquent should not be free of punishment for their age, which will encourage criminal activities. Meanwhile, they are after all young people, and thereby should be punished in a way that is conducive to their return.