Sports play a significant role in promoting physical and mental health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Sports play a crucial role in boosting not only physical and mental health but the overall well-being of an individual and have created unprecedented benefits. I completely agree with the statement that sports help enhance the muscles of the body, improve focus, and ameliorate mental health conditions like depression and anxiety. When a person plays sports, its muscle size increases because it continually challenges the muscles to deal with higher levels of resistance or weight which results in carving muscles on the body. A study conducted in India on teenager’s participation in sports showed a significant amount of physical change within two months, similarly, significant progress was witnessed in confidence also. Furthermore, physical activity intensifies focus too. When a person is engaging in an activity, the body releases hormones called endorphins which are natural mood boosters, the heart pumps more blood and oxygen is carried by blood to every corner of the brain. The outcome of this leads to better visualisation, making the right decisions and performing better in tasks. Additionally, Anxiety and Depression are major health issues nowadays, physical activity increases brain stimulation, clears thought processes, and the presence of the mind, cultivates self-love and warmth also, it is tackling the problem of sleeping by releasing chemicals into the body. To conclude, I think the importance of exercise goes beyond the advantages mentioned above as it also offers additional health benefits like long life, disease-free body, and agility. A Moderate amount of activity should be performed on a day-to-day basis.