Many argue that schools are no longer necessary because children can learn so much from the internet and be educated at home. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that homeschooling is preferable to traditional education because learning can be done online. I do not agree with this because students require face-to-face guidance and many web-based schools are not reliable. Firstly, online classes are not very effective as they do not provide face-to-face guidance required by students. Despite the advancement in technology, robotic teachers cannot be able to control what students are doing during the class. For example, during a lesson, some children can shift focus to something funny or enjoyable to them such as games or music and no one can monitor and control them. Moreover, it is very easy for a traditional teacher to understand pupils strengths and weaknesses and guide them accordingly, something an online or robotic teacher cannot do. Secondly, not all web-based schools are reliable, most of them are not effective. Different websites can have different information on the same subject which is not accurate. For instance, anyone can create a channel or website and claim to be a professional teacher which they are not and they can use materials from other sites that are also not reliable. This can mislead the students as most of this information do not follow the guidelines provided by the educational sector. In addition to this, some sites can have pop-up adverts which are not appropriate for the kids and this cannot be a reliable source of learning for the kids as it is disturbing and violets their rights. To sum up, I completely disagree with the notion that traditional schools are no longer of importance as there is a lot of information on the internet. Students still need guidance and reliable sources of education.