In the interest of road safety, cyclists should be required to pass a test before they are allowed on public roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued that individuals who ride bicycles should be required to pass an examination in order to be allowed to use public roads in a safe way. This essay completely agrees with the previous statement since different bicycle accidents occur everyday and anyone who uses the road (especially the ones who own a vehicle) should be aware of road safety. One strong reason why I agree with this idea is that there is an unfortunate big amount of bicycle accidents that happen daily in different countries. Many of these accidents could have been avoided if cyclists were much more knowledgeable and aware of traffic rules and road safety in general. For example, last week in Lima, Peru a 18 year old girl decided to go on a ride without wearing a helmet thinking that it was not necessary to do it due to the short trip she would make. Unfortunately, she got distracted because of a march happening at the moment and fell down from the bike, resulting in a high level injury around her head. In addition, we tend to keep in mind that people who drive a vehicle that possess high chances of hurting others should be the ones learning about road safety or taking tests. However this is not true. Every person who uses the road (especially that population who owns a vehicle) should be aware enough of the different traffic rules and road safety guidelines since they must keep in mind any possible accident, how to avoid it and the devastating consequences of not following rules. For example, cyclists should learn from certain workshops such as “ Road safety for everyone ” and then follow this learning by taking a proper test. In conclusion, it is recommended to apply a test for cyclists before getting a permission to use the public roads. This is suggested due to the high amount of bicycle accidents that happen everyday and the fact that anyone who uses the road should be aware of traffic rules and road safety in order to be responsible with his life and others’.