In many countries today the retirement age from work has been raised. Do the advantages of raising the retirement age from work outweigh the disadvantages?

The concept of increasing the retirement age is gaining more popularity in various countries. While this admittedly has certain benefits, I would contend that these are overshadowed by the drawbacks. Admittedly, delaying the retirement age can be advantageous to a certain extent. One significant benefit is the improvements in physical and mental health. For example, a considerable number of taxi drivers in Japan are over 65 years old, though their age of retirement is 60. This not only helps the elderly to be clear-headed as they get to communicate with passengers, but it also allows them to stay concentrated on their work, leading to prolonged life span and mental sharpness. Additionally, this trend may alleviate financial pressures on families. This is because older people tend to be financially dependent if they retire at an early age. Indeed, many families have to employ a domestic worker where hectic schedules make it challenging for individuals to look after their parents, leading to a fixed amount of money spent on this service monthly and putting a strain on families. Despite the aforementioned benefits, it is my firm conviction that this trend is riddled with a litany of problems. One legitimate concern revolves around productivity within businesses. Older-aged workers are less adept at adapting to technological advancements compared to younger generations. For example, in the manufacturing sector, older workers might struggle to operate or adapt to new automated systems, resulting in slower production processes and increased error rates ultimately. Additionally, a higher retirement age could jeopardise family bonds. As a matter of fact, elderly individuals should ideally make the most of their retirement period by pursuing personal interests and spending time with family. However, extending the age of retirement will encourage them to remain in the workforce longer, undermining the fabric of family life due to little intergenerational bonding among family members. In conclusion, while acknowledging the advantages of extending retirement age in terms of health conditions and financial side, I am of the opinion that these are eclipsed by the drawbacks associated with productivity and family relationships.