It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parent and teacher be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children?

Some people believe that punishing kids is compulsory to be done by parents and teachers as it would help children to distinguish between right and wrong in the near future. In my opinion, this statement is totally wrong. But, somewhat of this action can be taken in some situations. To begin, it has been observed that some of these punishments have resulted in major hurdles for students. Putting undue pressure on children and abandoning them can lead kids to start hating the people who care about them. This would ruin their relationship which would make children not obey their parents. So even in their crisis, these adults cannot assist them and this would facilitate their path of making the wrong decision. For example, there are many young pupils who start smoking very early and as their parents do not have any control over them, their advice would not make any difference for these kids and they would continue smoking. This is why I think that guardians must avoid this. On the other hand, if someone wants to punish a child, they should carefully consider how it would affect the kid. It must be questioned whether is this act going to mitigate the problems of the student or not. While there are many methods of punishment, I think the worst one is humiliation. If teachers try to make a joke out of a student, it would lead them to lose their confidence which is very difficult to repair. This is why I think the best method of punishment is to respectively, first, make them aware of their mistakes. Second, forcing them to do some activities which bring pros to them. Like studying or jogging. In this way, they are both improving in skills and learning some lessons from their mistakes at the same time. In conclusion, I think this action has a high chance of causing further issues for children. However, if it must be done, it should be without any mocking and the punishment itself should help the development of kids.