Some people believe that time spent on television, video and computer games can be valuable for children. Others beleve this may have negative effects on a child's development. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that electric devices are essential items in today's world. Although some people suggest that it is useful for children to spend time on television, video and computer games, others assert that these are drawbacks to using them. This essay will explain both opinions and why I support the latter idea. To begin with the one hand, some people believe that television is one of the valuable ways to teach. There are numerous TV programs related to Japanese history. Research recently conducted by the Ministry of Education in Japan discovered that 80% of historical teachers use TV programs in their classes. Via watching these movies, students can not only enjoy learning but also feel vivid images related to the curriculum. Additionally, visual images can allow learners to memorize things longer and more accurately. Consequently, television can be a practical measure to enhance the efficiency of education. On the other hand, however, I believe that computer games are harmful to children. These can include both physical and mental problems. For the former, while students play computer games, they are likely to be sitting for a long time. This custom may cause eye strain, shoulder pain and headache. Regarding the latter, according to an article by Nikkei newspaper, the number of high school students who are suffering from computer addiction has increased significantly within the last two decades. These students feel more anxious and have difficulty controlling their own emotions. Therefore, if students use electronic devices too much, they can be exposed to negative effects. In conclusion, although there are advantages to spending time on these items, we should take into account the bad effects on a child's development.