International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door to tourists. Do the advantages of increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

It is true that global tourism has become inexpensive these days, and an increasing number of nations are freely allowing entry of tourists. While there are possible disadvantages associated to this trend, I think that potential benefits of the growth in tourism overweigh its drawbacks. On the one hand, I accept that there are certain disadvantages related to the increase in tourism. Firstly, the rise in global travel has resulted in an unprecedented negative effect on environment of earth. It has lead both to an increase in consumption of precious natural resources and to an increase in the pollution levels. Moreover, due to the overcrowded nature of heritage sites, it has become harder to manage them properly. As a result, it would harm these valuable historical sites through acts such as littering or graffiti. However, I believe that some benefits are far stronger than the drawbacks mentioned above. First of all, international tourism has brought in foreign currency to many Second and Third World countries by flourishing their economies. At the same time, the growing tourism industry has provided millions of job worldwide. In addition to this, owing to tourism, people would easily get the opportunity to interact with others by immersing in different cultures and religions. Therefore, their understanding grows which promotes a sense of cultural harmony. In conclusion, although there are some downsides of the increase in tourism, I ensure that overall it is a positive trend as it has benefitted both the economies as well as the culture of host nations.