People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems. Do you agree or disagree ?

Learning about a nation's literary and cultural works is an important aspect of our education. I mostly agree, that students should be taught about famous novels and poems however, it should be done in moderation to ensure that the material is understood properly. On one hand, by familiarizing yourself with different kinds of literature and poems, you are able to broaden and expand your vocabulary and lexical skills. Firstly, let's take reading historical books for example. Students should be encouraged to read books or novels that fall into the classic genre, as they give us a different perspective on how everyday life used to look like in the past. By reading and analyzing famous archaic texts, we are able form a picture and imagine different political or social situations in the previous centuries, and eventually compare them to what they look like today. Additionally, educating ourselves on the mistakes and conflicts made in the past, can help us prevent them from happening again, therefore minimizing the need for pointless arguments. On the other hand, high school students often have a packed schedule and have to prepare and study for multiple subjects at once. Moreover, there are countless important historical literary works that deserve to be assesed, however there is not enough time to get through them all. It can be very time-consuming to analyze an entire novel, and it is even harder to really understand what the author meant. Therefore, having students read multiple books and poems can be counterproductive and take away from the benefits that come with learning about various cultures and types of literature. To sum up, it is essential we are educated on the importance of literature and other classical works as they provide a unique window to the past and help us imagine what life was like before.