Now a lot of people in the college are doing academic study, we should encourage them to learn a vocational skill like plumber, electrician. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of which future career should learners choose has sparked considerable debate in recent times. Some people contend that we should stimulate students to have vocational training in fields like plumbing or electrical work besides academic study in college. In my point of view, I partly agree with the perspective given. This essay will discuss some reasons in support of my view. On the one hand, there are some arguments in favor of the idea that we should promote the value of learning practical skills like plumbing or electrical work to college students. To begin with, it is a large advantage for students after graduating college with a degree in vocational skills. Before having a full-time job in the field they had studied, students must need a part-time job for income to pay rent and other supplies. Vocational skills like plumber or electrician can meet the needs for a job in short terms of students after graduating college. Furthermore, by promoting vocational training, colleges can contribute to a skilled workforce and boost the local economy. For example, some students might not find the career that they have studied in college suitable for them, instead of wasting time to find another field to learn, they can take advantage of the vocational skills they have learned. Vocational training options such as becoming a plumber or electrician are also a great choice for future careers because of the need for those jobs and the irreplaceable of them. On the other hand, there are several reasons against the statement that it's essential to highlight the benefits of acquiring trade skills like plumbing or electrical work besides academic degrees in college. One main argument would be that college should primarily focus on academic pursuits and preparation for higher education or professional careers. Learning vocational skills sometimes can cause distraction from studying the main subjects for future careers and create a bad affect on learners. Another argument would be that vocational trades are less prestigious than academic careers, discouraging students from pursuing them. Most students nowadays seeking for a high paid job instead of following a less stable career. For instance, students would rather choose to work as lawyer or white-collar professionals than become a plumber or electrician who have to work in harsher conditions. All in all, the facts mentioned above have created a dilemma when people evaluate the effects of this issues, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. I personally belive that it could have both sides, people should have further consideration on this issue.