Some are of the opinion that children below the age of 12 shouldn’t be allowed to have a mobile phone. Others believe that mobile phones are a useful tool for children of all ages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that the provision of smartphones should be permitted to children from 12 years old onwards, whereas others completely disagree and imply that anyone (including children who are much younger) should have the opportunity to use one and enjoy its benefits. This essay agrees that although mobile phones are able to provide useful tools, they do not overweigh the high risks that they might bring to a very young person. On one hand, the variety of advantages that are found thanks to the digital system applied in a smartphone, are incredible. From making a videocall, sending instant messages and contacting anyone who lives on the other side of the world to watching educational videos that help toodlers, preschoolers and any child to acquire knowledge through a more enjoyable experience. All of these represent a massive technology evolution with a benficial impact towards the way young generations apply knowledge. For example, educational videos such as "Blippi" (a man making videos about any topic which includes songs for children) on the YouTube website have bit a great support for any young learner. On the other hand, despite of all the advantages of using phones, is it possible to say that they are complete safe for everyone? When surfing on the internet, the risks faced are high, especially for kids who are in a more vulnerable position to be the target of scammers or people whose intentions are to manipulate them. For example, there are numerous child abusers who hide behind a screen in order to take advantage of the children's vulnerability to catch their attention through the delivery of messages in order to apply " children grooming". Although some websites keep certain security, the risk of falling into this kind of traps will always be there. Unfortunately, the younger the users, the greater the risk. In conclusion, it is undeniable the great adavantages advantage that mobile phones have brought with the years for people of all ages. Nevertheless, from my point of view, it is evident that the risks presented (especially for the youngest ones) represent a much higher disadvantage which should stop parents from providing this kind of digital devices to their children.