Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Disscuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Advertising is really effective to lead people to buy their things, otherwise there is another opinion that it is so common that it is no longer effective. First of all, advertising not only gives us the product information but also imprints the brands. For example, there are diverse bed brands however we only know a few bed brands such as Simmons, Iloom, Casamia and Ace. If we try to buy the bed, then we are likely to visit those brands. On the other hand, too many advertisements exist these days and it makes us tired. I used to pay attention to advertisements when I watched Youtube videos in the early days, however I skip the advertisement immediately when it pops out these days. Therefore, advertising is not only ineffective but also makes us tired. Ultimately, it gives us a negative image. I agree that advertising is too common so that we no longer pay attention to it and it no longer drives us to buy things directly. However, the more a brand advertises their own brand the more people are getting familiar with the brand. Most consumers have a tendency of buying familiar stuff so they will consume a familiar brand, which means advertisements make people buy their things eventually. To summarise, advertising has both positive and negative sides. However, I personally think advertising is still effective and useful for many reasons. That is the reason why many companies still spend numerous money on advertising and why many advertising companies exist.