Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many today are of the belief that advances in technology have done more to combat, rather than aid, criminal behavior. In my opinion, although there are certain novel avenues now available to criminals related to online fraud, technology generally benefits law enforcement. Those who argue as to the negative implications of technology on crime point out the increased prevalence of cybercrimes. These crimes range from online fraud and fishing schemes to political crimes and the selling of illicit substances. In the early stages of the internet, such crimes were common online and difficult for enforcement agencies to combat. As advances have spread, both law enforcement agencies and criminals have become more technologically-savvy. A clear example of this would be the occasional news article reporting on a large-scale theft of passwords that warns users to update passwords and be more wary of storing private information online. However, the crimes mentioned above are rare and technological innovations now help prevent many crimes before they even occur. The strongest instance illustrating this point would be the deterrence resulting from security cameras in private and public spaces. Countries and cities that emphasize the value of these cameras over personal privacy concerns are significantly safer than unmonitored locations. A more specific example of this would be cameras that take photos of individuals speeding and send them speeding tickets through the mail or electronically. This simple and effective innovation can greatly reduce traffic infractions and as a result the number of accidents on a given road. In conclusion, despite the marginal downsides related to exploitation of new technologies by a small percentage of total criminals, the deterrent effect of security cameras has made the world considerably safer. There is always a balance between safety and security that must be carefully maintained.