Many cities have vehicle-free days, when people are required or encouraged to take a bus, cycle or travel by taxi. Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Nowadays, vehicle-free days have been implemented in some parts of the world where citizens are required or encouraged to take cycles or public transportation, such as buses and taxis. I believe that this policy will have more benefits than drawbacks as this can reduce congestion in some places and carbon emissions at the same time. First of all, the implementation of vehicle-free days has effectively reduced traffic in some areas. This is because people are required to use public transportation which increases the efficiency of the transport occupancies. Therefore, the number of private vehicles will be reduced, leading to a decrease in congestion level. This is proven by some researchers in the transportation sector where private vehicles have the biggest contribution to the rise in the congestion level on the road. Hence, reducing the number of private vehicles is the main solution to decrease traffic on the road. Furthermore, vehicle-free days can reduce carbon emissions which are usually released by private vehicles. In fact, private vehicles usually emit the greatest amount of carbon emission in the transportation sector which affects air quality. Thus, reducing private vehicles will give better air quality, leading to preventing respiratory disease among the citizens. According to the monitoring result of vehicle-free days in Europe, they claimed that they can reduce 30% to 40% of carbon emissions compared to usual days because of the vehicle-free days. Furthermore, some people in those areas said that they felt fresher air than the previous day. In conclusion, despite some disadvantages, implementing vehicle-free days will be more beneficial to some cities because they can reduce traffic and prevent emissions released by private vehicles.