With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

In this contemporary epoch, news can be proliferated easily. This happens due to the technology. The rise of the internet assisted people in obtaining their news from social media, platforms and applications. I have a balanced opinion. In this essay, I will elaborate on my opinion. On the one hand, technology has been involved in many sectors. One of these sectors is the journalism industry. Journals are publishing their news and exclusives on their sites. In addition, most of the persons around the world have smartphones. These phones are connected to the internet, thus, people can search for new or anything in an effortless way. Moreover, socialising the news can have a positive effect on the environment. It can decrease the consumption of paper and ink. A new study from Chicago University shows that about 80% ofindividuals around the world own smartphones. 70% of them prefer to read the news from the internet. On the other hand, the excessive utilization of the internet can have side effects. Firstly, not all people can afford a new smartphone. In some countries likely in Egypt, people can not pay the internet bills because of inflation. Furthermore, some of the news on the internet is fake and people do not trust it. Ultimately, elderly persons are not aware of how to use this new technology. They feel that they are outdated and it will take a lot of time to know how to use these devices. For instance, citizens in suburbs and hinterland areas in Egypt are low educated. They did not purchase phones and used primitive mobiles. In conclusion, there is a debate on this argument. The government should play a vital role in the fake news. The platforms should be observed to avoid any misunderstanding.