Most career choices demand vocational skills or specialist knowledge. However, despite this, most schools still teach academic subjects such as history or social studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, as the competition is increasing, the demand for vocational skills and specialist knowledge is drastically surging. This essay will suggest that learning vocational skills has various advantages in someone’s career, but we cannot underestimate the disadvantages of not having knowledge about history and social studies. The advantages of learning special skills and knowledge from early schooling are tremendous. By doing so, one can easily compete and survive in the world. Individuals will be more knowledgeable and can achieve their careers in their desired occupations. In addition, the knowledge and skills a professional employee gains after many years of experience will be possessed by a college graduate, as he is practicing those skills from his early schooling. For instance, primary schools in India are teaching their students about computer skills; those students will be more capable of getting a job as soon as they graduate. Despite these advantages, if the schools don’t focus on history and social studies, the culture of that country will be on the verge of extinction. Primary schooling plays a significant role in maintaining the culture and history of a specific country. If the school compromises on these subjects and puts more effort into vocational skills, the culture of that country will not pass on to the upcoming generations. Furthermore, even after permitting our children to give more priority to specialist knowledge, once they get old, they will have no identity about themselves, who they are and where they came from. To recapitulate, both vocational knowledge and social studies have their own importance. One makes life easy for the next generation, while the other helps them to get attached to their roots.