In some countries young people are not only richer, but also safer and healthier than ever before. However, they are often less happy. What do you think are the reasons for this and what can be done to help?

Young people are spending their lives as much more well-off, healthier and safer individuals in their communities compared to the past even though they have a lack of contentment. For this, negativity on the media, poor real-life connection and high cost of living are the main concerns, the government should take action in some ways to mitigate these issues. One of the reasons why young people are less happy is that the amount of bad news appears on the Internet. In other words, when they go online to enjoy, they tend to read or watch something related to murder, war and other conflicts among the people, which in turn, negative circumstances evoke stronger emotional responses. For example, news alerts about school shootings in the U.S. make the parents concerned about their children’s safety. To address this problem, the government have to implement stricter content regulations that limit the spread of negativity and misinformation. In this matter, age verification is a rational option to prevent consuming news affecting mental well-being, although the companies are willing to increase the number of their audience in any way. Poor real-life communication can fuel unhappiness in youth. To put it simply, those who work for a prolonged time feel pressure because of decreased leisure time with close people and social anxieties. As a result, they feel disconnected, which may lead to social isolation. Festivals, carnivals and other gatherings should be organized by the local community in order to promote genuine in-person relationships as well as mindfulness practices, group therapy sessions are a must to enhance their mental health. All the activities influence to have a sense of belonging and purpose. Another factor is economic challenges to lift their overall happiness level. Rising costs are the main roadblocks to achieving milestones like home ownership or starting families. To illustrate, in Britain, the average cost of getting married, buying a house and starting their lives increased to 350,000-400,000 for young people, which is dramatic. However, the cooperation of the government and big organizations could be beneficial while creating new positions and providing younger workers with better job opportunities. Moreover, banks allocating some bonuses and low interest rates would be supportive when they receive mortgages to buy their first home. In conclusion, young adults feel less happy despite the improved financial situation, better health and safer living atmosphere. While lack of happiness can be attributed to bad news, shortage of human interaction and overpriced products and services, in my opinion, banning negative content, having many social events and financial aid are the best alternatives to this issue.