Nowadays, some people believe that fashion is too important for young people and it has a negative impact on people and society. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some people that youngsters are highly inclined towards fashion in the current era and it has many adverse impacts on both community and individuals. I completely agree with this statement, such as the waste of money and the negative impacts on traditional values are some of the prominent reasons. To begin with, first and foremost why a section of society asserts that the importance of fashion is tremendously increased among young ones because they spend a lot of money to purchase new and trendy clothes. For example, a survey conducted by The Guardian Newspaper in March 2015 stated that 6 out of 10 people aged between 16 and 25 spent 55 per cent of their money on dresses and shoes in order to look smart and fashionable. Hence, though they claimed it made them popular among others and confident, it is not suitable for their future financial stability. In addition, gathering information and selecting branded gadgets and clothes occupy a huge time, which they can use to increase their self-worth by participating in study or volunteering. Despite individuals, this trend is a hazard for society too. Primarily, modern fashion can replace the cultural values of nations. If youngsters like to follow international fashion preferences, the demand for regional clothes and products can observe a downward slope. For instance, Amazon, an e-marketing website, mentioned in its annual report for 2022-23 that youngsters were keenly interested in purchasing modern clothes more than traditional ones and it decreased the sale of cultural items by 40%. Hence, it is certainly not suitable for a distinctive identity of a culture. What is more, where a new generation is always on their feet to post their trendy clothes to others on social media, their bonds with both family and society are on a perilous turn and they have little time to mend this error. To conclude, though fashion gives young ones a confident and smart look, it contains a huge amount of monetary and cultural loss, and I advocate this statement completely.