Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education has become an important part of everybody's life. Despite that, many university students take a year of travelling after their graduation. This actions are viewed to bring positive benefits, such as enhancing their knowledge and experience; while, others see it as a reckless action of wasting time. Nevertheless, I would say that taking a gap year is not an effective decision for a graduate for some reasons that are set out below. For a lot of person, a fresh new graduate should start their work instantly after the university is finished since a valuable year just got wasted for some inconvenience travelling. They believe these actions could lead to lost opportunities and momentum that they built for years. However, traveling is a good source to enhance your resume with experiences you have gotten. Similarly, people criticize gap year for losing pre-employee's focus. They see "gappers" might lose their academic focus during their journey. As a result, increasing the difficulties to return to an organized routine. Nevertheless, I would argue that taking a year off is basically taking a break from the intense learning that you have gotten for years. A gap of a year can offers a needed break to renew the focus and energy for starting their careers. In summary, it is true that some people may spend 12 months on a vacation waiting time and losing focus, many more will use this time productively to gain experiences that ultimately benefit their personal profile and their mind and it is therefore a beneficial experience.