Higher education seems to have been universalized as more and more people have the chance to pursue it. While some welcome this emerging change, others raise concerns over some unexpected consequences. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.[310]

The growing trend of universalizing tertiary institutions has sparked a debate among academias. Proponents of this practice vouch for its potential for increased access to knowledge and economic growth, while the opponents argue for degree inflation and erosion of work experiences. After weighing up both views, I believe that the downturns of such a change pale in comparison with its benefits. On the one hand, there are two main concerns over the practice of universalizing higher education. First of all, the increasing number of university graduates can lead to degree inflation. In fact, universalized colleges would allow a wider range of people to obtain degrees on their career path. However, such an excessive number of qualified graduates can immensely influence the system of the job market where degrees are no longer a determining factor, thus demanding job seekers to opt for other outstanding features. Another problem of making higher education accessible rests on lower work experiences. With the pursuit of academic path, people have less time for practical job training such as apprenticeship or vocational training which are equally crucial for a successful career. The lack of practical experience can cause workers to struggle with their job in the future. On the other hand, the support for universalized tertiary education can be validated by two grounds. Firstly, knowledge and expertise can be accessed by anyone thanks to the democratized learning system. Universalized higher education might open up the chance for the underprivileged to pursue their educational path, enhancing their literacy and furthering their job prospects. To illustrate, some tuition-free universities in Norway have wiped out the financial barrier for disadvantaged students to enroll in, ultimately promoting social equality in general. Secondly, the practice of involving everyone in tertiary education can stimulate the country’s economic growth. With more people equipped with essential knowledge and expertise for their job, the effectiveness and productivity in the working field might be optimized, thus generating more profits and fostering the economy in turn. In conclusion, the emerging change of universalized colleges should be approved of due to its equality of knowledge acquisition and promoting the overall economy. However, to maximize its potential, universities should opt for a stricter testing system and involve practical experience in their sylabus.