Social media platforms are gaining in popularity in recent years. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages [346]

Digital technology has been developing at a staggering pace, given the example of social media. Such platform are increasingly popular of late, but not many people, even experts, are totally sure of what they can bring about or their setbacks. From my perspective, these platforms may be either advantegeous or adverse, and that rests on how people use them. On the on hand, there are two key reasons why social media are disadvantageous. First, it can develop a sense of desensitization to bad and toxic contents. Indeed, there is no adequate filter or censorship, making such subjects unsuitable for certain users like highly impressionable teenagers. Additionally, people can form false indentities like made up names or ages, therefore getting easy access to inappropriate contents, thus engendering indifference. Second, social media platforms can give rise to issues regarding privacy and security. In fact, many users become so addicted that they may even reveal their life on social media, putting their personal information at stakes. Big technology corporations like META design special algorithms that collect users ’ data, either for selling to third parties or target marketing products and services. On the other hand, social media also bring about two benefits. First, it keeps users up to date with current trends and technologies. Technological advancements are occuring more rapidly than ever, evident in the development of these platforms, and various available technology benefiting the worlds are embraced and informed to humankind through them. What is more, social media gives users the opportunity to make new friends and acquaintances. Many people say that they make more friends online, fully knowing that they may not see each other in person. Social media connect people, making them feel like they are part of someone’s life regardless of socioeconomical status, thus even fostering greater equality among them. To reiterate, social media platforms can prove to be either beneficial pr detrimental, and that depends on the way people use them. If handled appropriately, they can be useful tools for sharing knowledge and interconnecting people. Otherwise, they may pose a threat to people ’s privacy and social standards, harming people and the society as a whole.