Question: Wealthy nations should assist poorer countries with humanitarian relief during natural disasters. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that assistance with humanitarian relief should be extended to Cubans, Barbudans, and Haitians during natural disasters. This is because wealthier countries can afford to help and this act will develop a strong bond between the nations that can benefit all parties involved. Therefore, this essay completely agrees with the statement above. The United States for instance, do have stronger economic funding to assist developing states that encountered severe earthquakes, fires and hurricanes. This is because there is undeniable evidence in the comparison of their Gross Domestic Product (GDP) which is usually far greater than that of the least-developed island like Jamaica. The government from the US can quickly source funds to aid Trinidardians who have been disadvantaged by avalanches, droughts or floods. Take the United Kingdom for example, their revenue for the 2023 fiscal year was reported to be well over 50 billion dollars which was a third times higher than places like Jamaica. With such a high revenue they were in a very good position to help most of the caribbean islands in times of great need after tornadoes, hurricanes or earthquakes. In addition, a camaraderie between these homelands will create a more powerful relationship that can profit everyone. Therefore, having such a relationship with powerful sovereign states can lead to future economic negotiations on projects that will benefit everyone such as better healthcare and more trading opportunities. According to the World News in 2022, America supplied Haiti with food, water, and other basic necessities after they had encountered an earthquake, later that year, the two states demonstrated stronger ties which brought them to an agreement to sign a bill to improve debt relief for Haiti and increase trading of coffee from Haiti at a lower cost that they would have purchased from Jamaica, for instance. In conclusion, I totally agree that wealthier nations do have the monetary funding to give assistance to a developing state that have been affected by natural disasters because they get a higher revenue each year than a poorer nation. In return, it will be beneficial for everyone involved when they create a powerful harmony.