The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that workers should not work too long and ought to get more rest time. Personally, I partially agree with the statement. Although it is reasonable, I believe we should take different factors into account, and reasons will be provided in this essay. It is undeniable that more weekends help workers achieve a better work -life balance, reduce work stress as well as strengthen family bonding. That is to say, increasing weekend time allows workers to spend more time with their families and strengthen family ties. Therefore, people can separate their lives from their work clearly and work in a more efficient way because they would no longer be distracted by their family members. What's more, working continuously for a long time can easily lead to physical and mental exhaustion and increase health risk. Shortening the working days and giving more free time to people is good for them to maintain healthy. All of these contribute to improve worker's life quality and work efficiency. On the other hand, decreasing the working days of some certain industries is bad for the development of the society in terms of economic downturn and public interest. With regard to the former, as the workers are working in a shorter working hour, the cost of labor would probably increase and the productivity would decrease. In this way, the economy will also decrease significantly. Moreover, if the working days of some industries like healthcare and emergency services decrease, this may not meet the needs of society and do harm to the public interest. In my opinion, most of the industries can improve their staff's life quality and working enthusiasm by giving them a longer weekend, while there are several special kinds of jobs that are necessary to the public and cannot be given more free time. In conclusion, I partially agree with the statement of workers should work for a shorter time because that depend on many factors. I believe that companies should consider more before making a decision and find the balance between work and relax.