Do advantages of the Internet outweigh its disadvantages ?[423]

Information technology has fantastically come over as a breath of fresh air in people ’s lives. It cannot be denied that the benefits IT brings about are so wondrous. Yet I still firmly believe that the drawbacks of technology outweigh the positives of it. I will provide relevant reasoning and evidence to support my stance. On the one hand, there are second pros to the appearance of technology. First and foremost, technology gives a chance to highly improved communication. In the world of business and education, video conferencing has enabled people to exchange ideas despite geographical boundaries. Besides, for people who are physically disabled or simply too busy, online shopping is a much more convenient and cheaper option. Secondly, information technology has markedly created higher productivity. With the development of many modern machines and systems, people ’s jobs are becoming much easier. For instance, there are such calculating systems helping people calculate data faster and machines help people solve dangerous and labor work. This not only improves the efficiency but also saves time for other tasks. On the other hand, the development of IT leads to several negative aspects as follows. Firstly, modern technology deprives people of job opportunities. It is common now to see almost all production lines in factories are controlled by technology and systems. This situation results in the alarmingly increased unemployment among humans as the need for real people in these jobs are sadly taken for granted. Secondly, people using technology have to face security issues. There are more and more computer hackers who can plagiarize people ’s production and spoil data on the Internet. They can post a variety of irrelevant information on the Internet without verification, which leads to people being mistaken, especially silver surfers and children. Finally, excessive use of the Internet can trigger people ’s over-reliance and health issues. When solving a problem becomes easier with intelligent technology, it is more difficult to assess one’s competence. People spending too much time on technology will also easily forget to take care of themselves and lead to several diseases such as eye issues, addiction and insomnia. All things considered, IT brings about a lot of advantageous changes to people ’s lives. However, there are still some negatives that people must be aware of when using it.