The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Scientific breakthroughs are rapidly changing our lifestyle on this planet in the twenty-first century. Many argue that alleviating the quality of citizen's life ought to be the priority of scientific endeavours. I wholeheartedly endorse this viewpoint owing to the higher levels of convenience and affordability associated with it. On the one hand, scientists constantly introduce advanced technologies that facilitate our lifestyle and make it more comfortable in various aspects. For example, the introduction of virtual communication applications and social media platforms offers the opportunity to contact anybody globally regardless of geographical location. Moreover, these communication devices are used not only in personal interactions to improve life but also in professional capacities. As a result, many multinationals and entrepreneurial enterprises nowadays allow their employees to select remote or hybrid options as well as attend career meetings virtually. Hence, this contributes to a higher quality of life as people face fewer challenges such as commuting or being in stressful workplaces. On the other hand, technological breakthroughs which are a direct outcome of scientific accomplishments make citizen's way of life extremely affordable. Although cutting-edge computers and cell phones used to cost a fortune a few decades ago, thanks to science, the latest versions of state-of-the-art technology are currently affordable for the overwhelming majority of the population, for instance. Furthermore, if scientists figure out methods for mass production, it can result in an enormous scale of manufactured items which leads to a dramatic reduction in the cost for ordinary consumers. Thus, less expensive prices also constitute a tremendous contribution in order to provide a prosperous life for the average citizen. In conclusion, I unequivocally advocate that the utmost importance during scientific projects and discoveries should be given to humans and enhancing their livelihoods. Meanwhile, this fast-paced trend not only resulted in a more convenient lifestyle but also led to much broader access to once extravagant and luxurious devices. I forecast even more extraordinary and mind-boggling achievements in a not-distant future.