Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, a large number of patients who have sought help from hospitals are now trying different cure methods. From my perspective, this phenomenon might lead to some drawbacks that will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, using alternative ways to treat illnesses might be helpful in a few cases. Firstly, making use of traditional medicines is effective for treating several common sicknesses such as flu, cough or headache. These methods not only help to ease the patients’ insecurity but also reduce medical expenses as ingredients are usually cheap and available at anyone’s home. For instance, Vietnamese often use garlic, ginger, salt and some other plants to cure the flu. It is a good method to alleviate the symptoms and make the patients recover faster without going to the hospital. On the other hand, there are multiple negative effects that these treatments might cause. First of all, trying unconventional methods can worsen the disease instead of easing it. In fact, many popular home remedies nowadays have no scientific evidence, they only support improving patients’ health but are not able to cure the illness completely. Moreover, some of them may create undesirable side effects when combined with alternative ways. Secondly, a lot of people take advantage of patients’ desire to get rid of the sickness to sell the medicine at an extremely high price. As a result, a lot of families sold all their properties to afford the treatments with the hope that the patients might recover from the disease. In conclusion, even though unconventional ways might work in some circumstances, I still hold a firm belief that in most cases, they can lead to unexpected consequences.