In many countries, people spend longer hours at work. Why does this happen? What problems can this cause? Is it positive or negative development?

In many countries, employees are working longer hours. This is because of economic pressure and cultural expectations, which may bring short-term benefits. However, longer hours at work are believed to have a negative impact on individuals and society. First of all, a major reason is that people have some pressure from their companies and cultural expectations, and they may maintain the operation of machines to remain profitable and efficient. For example, there are many semiconductor companies in Taiwan, which are suppliers for some Western companies. As a result, some engineers are always under pressure when they have responsibilities for production. They have to keep the quality of products and maintain constant operation. The second factor is the high Cost of Living,housing and rental, which is economic pressure from society. Therefore, when people spend longer hours at work, they earn more money. For instance, in some specific industries of Taiwan, people get paid higher salaries owing to longer hours at work and their expertise. They don't have the choice to spend less time on their job. Although longer hours at work bring a higher salary, they may face some health problems, including heart disease and depression. Many reports claim that people take a risk of sudden death when they work longer. Moreover, some people aren't able to spend time with their families. They may difficult to maintain their relationships with friends and families. Some statistics reveal a decrease in birth rate due to overworking. If people are forced to sacrifice private time by longer hours at work, they may lose their health, relationships and lives. In conclusion, it is argued that people are working longer hours. It is largely negative for employees and society. It is reported that people have mental health issues and some severe illnesses.