Theoretical subjects (such as mathematic and philosophy) should no longer be taught in universities because most of university students choose practical subjects (such as accounting and economics).To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, there has been an increase in the number of people who pay attention to the issue of college education. It is said that the theory courses no longer need to exist, just because of their small popularity. Personally, I strongly disagree with this idea and reasons will be provided in this essay. Admittedly, people who agree with the theoretical subjects should be dropped and assume that the only purpose of university education is to let students access success immediately. However, this view is short-sighted. To be specific, although subjects such as accounting and economics have a certain demand in the job market, other subjects also have their own employment opportunities and development prospects. For example, the technology industry has a high demand for talent in computer science and engineering, and the healthcare industry has a high demand for medical and nursing disciplines. Furthermore, theoretical knowledge is evolved from elevate, and can form the basis of many practical subjects. In other words, some practical fields such as economics and computer science are often underpinned by mathematical theories. If the theoretical subjects are removed, students’ thinking depth and width would be affected, and therefore restrict the progress of civilization. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the statement of removing theory classes from the university education system because I believe that theoretical subjects are an integral part of a university education, as they contribute to the intellectual growth of students and are the basis of many practical courses.