Some people think having a university degree is the best way to secure a good job. However, others believe skills and experience are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is argued by many that to land a proper job, you need to obtain a university degree while others think that someone's expertise and skills are paramount. In my opinion, holding a degree is more likely to get you career opportunities because of the educational exposure and market competition. On the one hand, skills and experience are far more crucial compared to only being a university graduate as education does not dictate intelligence. Skilled and handy workers are key resources for companies. They are excellent in their jobs as they spend years refining and working on their abilities. In addition, they are usually less expensive and more likely to stay for longer periods in their companies. To give an example, a big company in my region specializing in manufacturing is leaning towards targeting non- degree holders and training them for a period in order to perform blue collar jobs. Conversely, college graduates are exposed to structured and specialized learning for a long period of time that equips them with proper theoretical and practical experiences. These make them more appealing to companies. In addition, with advanced technologies, companies are relying on hiring systems that are based on certain algorithms to filter out applicants who do not fit in. Most of the time, they exclude any application that does not have a diploma or a degree, which will lessen the chances of hiring for those who do not have a graduation certificate despite having impressive resumes. In my experience as a human resources professional, the job market is becoming more competitive by the day and to be recognized by major corporations, being a university graduate is the bare minimum. Therefore, I strongly advocate for completing education and having more career options. In conclusion, while skills and experience play a crucial role in employability, obtaining a university degree remains the most effective way to secure a well-paying job.