Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antartica.  What are the advantages and disadvantages for the tourists who visit such places?

Easy and fast access to tourism has enabled individuals to visit remote regions named the Antarctic and the Sahara desert. Even though they are hard to survive, many people nowadays travel to them more often than past. Although it has facilitated humans to gain a unique experience, it has created adverse impacts on the environment and local habitats. The foremost positive outcome of travelling to remote areas is that it provides a chance for individuals to gain a unique experience first-hand, which would not have been otherwise possible if the travel industry had not developed. For example, fast air travel and making bookings to such places in advance have aided travellers to gain information and confidence beforehand. Moreover, many visitors now share their experiences and precautions online which come in handy for others. For instance, when one of my friends visited the Sahara desert, he researched it online and have a plenty of data that helped him have a good stay. On the contrary, it has impacted the environment and local habitats. More and more visitors visiting such isolated regions have increased the carbon footprint which has now become an issue of concern among environmentalists and scientists. To illustrate, the ice over glaciers has started melting because of global warming. As a result, local habitats like polar bears are unable to survive in warmer temperatures. In conclusion, it is evident that tourism has reached every corner of the world. It has helped people to visit remote areas in a convenient way. However, it has influenced the environment and local habitats in a negative way. Thus, I believe that this tendency has its pros and cons, and tourists should carefully consider before having a trip to places faraway or with harsh conditions.