It is becoming more and more difficult to escape the influence of the social media on our lives. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in a media-rich society.

Being immersed in social media is becoming difficult to escape its influence on people's lives. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living in an multimedia-enriched society. Numerous advantages of social media like global connectivity, it is cost-effective, and provides business opportunities. First, people can connect or communicate easily to other people worldwide by using facebook, messenger and various media platforms without going to their places just to communicate. Second, it costs less to utilize different media since one can access it anytime and anywhere. Lastly, it offers business opportunities like monetizing videos or posts, or selling and buying things online with just a simple click. With these being said, everything becomes accessible and you can earn from it at the same time. On the contrary, multimedia has downsides like cyberbullying, less bonding time, fake news, scams, hacking, phishing of accounts. First is cyberbullying, where people tend to use the media to do unnecessary things like making fun and bullying someone online. Second, giving lesser quality time to family or friends because most of the time everyone is holding the gadgets. Third, fake news also is evident today with pictures or videos being edited that people tend to acknowledge such news or information from unreliable sources, pages or websites. Lastly, scams, hacking, phishing and fraud are recurrent where people can open unwanted links that would lead personal information to leak and be used against them. These examples would lead to more problems when using the platforms if not prevented, thus everyone should be well informed regarding the use of social media. To conclude, there are pros and cons in using different media platforms. However, it is up to the people how they will use it on their end.