Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is true that some environmental problems are caused by science and technology development. Hence, some people harbour a belief that simpler lifestyles will alleviate the situation whilst others hold the reverse viewpoint that science and technology can tackle the problem. From my perspective, I am inclined to stand neutrally with both opinions since science and technology have significantly improved human life but the environmental damage from them cannot be denied. Initially, one of the main arguments for its rejection of science and technology development is that it has generated too much pollution and damage to the world. For example, the invention of air conditioning brings about a comfortable solution in hot summer days. However, it is also a vital factor in global warming. Furthermore, it has been proved that the earth has recovered thanks to the world shutdown which is because of the pandemic. According to the aforementioned, science and technology indeed have drawbacks to the environment. At the other end of the spectrum, scientific and technological contributions have positive impacts on human well-being which people should cherish and optimally use. For instance, the original aim of plastic was to reduce the overuse of paper. As plastic can be reused, the inventor thought it could be an alternative to decline waste. Nevertheless, plastic has eventually turned into the main cause of environmental pollution. Thus, the public attitude towards those contributions will considerably affect the results. Besides,the development of science and technology is unlimited. Admittedly, there may be one day those environmental issues can be solved by it. To sum up, despite the fact that science and technology have crucial roles to play in modern society,their shortcomings have polluted the earth. Therefore, it is imperative to strike a balance between environmental protection and scientific and technological growth so as to create long-term benefits for both sides.