In some parts of the world, it is increasingly popular to research the history of one’s own family. Is this a positive or negative development?

Opinions are divided on whether the increase in tracing one's genealogical roots is beneficial or not. To a certain extent, I agree that this trend has some negatives,but I would also argue that researching family trees can also bring some positives as well. Admittedly, a family history is not always a straightforward narrative. It can be complex and filled with unexpected twists, including untold stories, hidden struggles, and diverse experiences. For instance, many people trace back to their family tree and then realise that their ancestors were murderers or wanted people, which may cause them to feel embarrassed or even disown their families. Therefore, it is sometimes detrimental to research one's own family tree. On the other hand, tracing past history is beneficial as it allows people to find a common tendency of some diseases in their family. In other words, people are able to be better prepared to reduce the risk of getting some illness as they are more cautious about them when they acknowledge a higher tendency of their family getting a particular health problem. For instance, the examination of the past family record which demonstrated more likelihood of breast cancer has encouraged me to go to a hospital for a regular medical check-up. Furthermore, this not only allowed me to recognize my current health condition but also detect a possible sign of the disease at an earlier stage, increasing more chances for cure and survival. In conclusion, researching the past record of the family comprises both merits and demerits.