In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is not a surprise that fast food has become commonplace these days. A huge number of people prefer to choose meal chains like McDonald's, Burger King, KFC and others as their main way of eating. Subsequently, a lot of people have serious health problems because it is very harmful to eat such foodstuffs constantly. And there is a view that the government should increase the tax on these purchases. And of course, this solution has its advantages and disadvantages. But I think the drawbacks are more. First of all, the main advantage of fast food is the opportunity to eat quickly and tastily for a small price. In fact, for people from low socio-economic levels, this method is very convenient and reliable. Thus, they do not need to spend large sums of money to cook a meal for themselves and their families. As a result, the introduction of additional taxes on such foodstuffs will negatively affect the financial possibilities of poor persons. Secondly, such price hikes for fast food in general will reduce its sales. It follows that the fast menu restaurant industry will start to give up. For instance, the number of McDonald's and similar networks will decrease. This forms the main disadvantage of tariffs, namely the availability of meals for population. On the other hand, adding more levies on fast food has a bright advantage. There is no doubt that this decision will affect the physical condition of our society in the best way. Obviously, the number of people suffering from obesity will decrease. So, making fast- food more expensive could lower health care costs for the government. However, introducing healthy lifestyle programs is also a good way to influence community nutrition. To sum up, I can say that there is no need to add more levies on fast food because it is each person's choice what to eat. Nonetheless, everyone should remember that we must try to prefer only healthy meals in order to keep our health and to show the right example to the younger generation.