Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the rise of globalisation, migration is a popular choice for working adults all over the world. A large number of people hold the belief that professionals like engineers and doctors should work in the country where they received their professional training. Others hold a more liberal perspective that they are free to work in a different place if that is what they desire. While I agree with the more liberal perspective, this short essay discusses both points of views. Firstly, the notion that professionals should practice in the country of their training is completely understandable as training institutions often tailor their materials and experiences to cater towards local needs. There is a famous saying about this, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." In my educational background for instance, all the materials and practicums I have undergone in Hong Kong are mostly relevant to Hong Kong; hiring agencies in other nations will have requirements and expectations different from what I am used to. Another reason why people may share this notion is because of the resources involved. The spot that I occupy at the local institution gave me plenty of opportunities to work with other grassroot organisations. If I move abroad, all of these would go to waste. Moreover, my overseas experience during service tours and immersion semester shows me that different countries have different ways of handling similar circumstances so I may need to learn the ropes again when I move abroad. On the other hand, I still believe that we should be free to work in a place of our choice. Humans value autonomy the most at the end of the day, which contributes significantly to our happiness and consequently the quality and quantity of the work we produce. Limiting where we are allowed to work may make us unhappy while occupying jobs that other people will be more than willing to take. Furthermore, we can always return to the country where we gained our knowledge and skills after working for some time abroad. That will allows us to bring innovative ideas to the local industry and help the economy flourish further than would have been feasible previously. Most importantly, we should learn to make personal and professional decisions without letting others influence us because they are not the ones in charge of our lives. To conclude, there are various reasons why people may argue that we should work in the country where we studied and why others would counterargue this belief. I personally think that we deserve the liberty to choose where to work because these decisions influence our personal lives which is ultimately our responsibility and not up to others to speak on.