Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam’’ How true do you think this statement is? What are measures can the government take to discourage people from using their cars?

Talking about urbanization, one could not avoid a thorough look at the alarming increase in the number of personal vehicles nowadays in many cities around the world. As a result, many urban areas in this day have to deal with traffic congestion and other negative impacts to the people living in those places. In fact, its reasons are multiple and certainly, the solutions to accompany them are various as well. We will be taking a glance at them below. The first to mention in terms of reasons for this discussion is overpopulation. No one can deny the fact that a dramatic rise in the number of people living in urban areas has put severe pressure on housing and transportation, leading to the increase of car ownership in every family. That is to say, with every family owning at least one car in their garage, multiply this to the millions of people living in the big city, and we will never have enough space for everyone to commute in the rush hour. Furthermore, unlike the family real estate that can be located further away from the city centre, offices and workplaces are usually located in the city downtown where they can have both a reputation and a better image for the company. As a result, people have to travel further and further these days to work because they cannot afford a place to live in the city centre, as the mortgage fee is higher than their living standard. Another reason that need to be mentioned is the missing of public transportation in urban areas. For example, in some cities around the world, the Metro system is not connected to some centre districts, while bus stations are not located in these areas, making people that need to travel to these locations can only take a taxi or their personal vehicles. Potential ways to tackle this problem may include the following. Initially, the government should invest more in public transportation system, including buses, Metro lines, and bicycle lanes in those central areas with large populations to solve the commuting issues. Simultaneously, encouraging the use of public transportation vehicles, as well as introducing new laws and taxes to limit the number of car ownerships may also help to alleviate the situation. An example of this point is Singapore, where every corner of the nation can be reached by cheap and convenient buses or metro, and the taxes to own a car are nearly double the price of the vehicle, making people think twice before making a purchase for their personal car. Another possible solution is for schools to teach the children the importance of public transportation and the damaging consequences of pollution caused by cars and other fossil fuel consumers. Lastly, the family can limit their use of personal cars and make a habit of travelling to school and work by buses or other transportation systems to save money on fuel as well as reduce the load on the street in the place they are living in. In conclusion, the above problems of traffic congestion caused by car ownership bring in some discussion on the solution. Indeed, the more effective ways to cope with this issue should need a deeper consideration which is more or less beyond the scope of this writing due to time and length limit.